Before And After Science Announce Debut Album, Listen To New Song “Downburst”


Portuguese instrumental post-rock/post-metal outfit Before And After Science entangle the listeners in the emotive crescendo of “Downburst“, which is the first track of their first full-length album Relics & Cycles set to be released on September 15 via Shunu Records.

The delicate melodies and moody riffs of “Downburst” create a distinctly cinematic aura and prepare the listener to be sucked into the band’s sonic world. A quiet storm of a song.

Listen to “Downburst” below.

In bassist Nuno Lobão’s words, the track “When we started working on this record we thought about going more dark and conceptual. We wanted something related with our history as a band and since we’ve been through a lot in these past years we ended up with the title “Relics & Cycles”. Emphasising our darkest moments, the opening-track “Downburst” retracts the stages where the longevity of this project have been tested.”

Relics & Cycles artwork and tracklisting below.

cover01 Downburst 6:25
02 Howling 5:32
03 Foëhn 1:20
04 Nostalgia 5:56
05 Labirinto 7:48
06 Naïve 1:09
07 Poinsettia 7:58

Produced and mixed once again by Claudio Tavares and mastered by Miguel Marques (SDB Mastering Studio), Relics & Cycles was recorded in October 2015 at the well renowned Sá Da Bandeira Studios, and it’s Before And After Science’s very first full-length album.

The album features the artwork, specifically crafted for Relics & Cycles, of the spanish artist Andi “StillaKid” Rensen Aguion also contained in the 8-pages artbook included in the packaging.

Relics & Cycles will be released Friday 15 September 2017 via Shunu Records.

Photo credit: Ricardo Silva
No Comments Yet

Comments are closed