Brown Bird’s MorganEve Swain Returns with The Huntress And The Holder Of Hands


MorganEve Swain, half of the husband-and-wife duo Brown Bird, returns with The Huntress And The Holder Of Hands, issuing the band’s debut album, Avalon, on September. 15th. A teaser featuring clips of new music can be found below:

I had a very conscious realization that either I start writing my own music or I never touch music ever again,” Swain says of her decision to return to music following the passing of her musical partner and husband Dave Lamb. “It seemed totally black-and-white to me. I thought, ‘If I don’t do this now, and if too much time passes, I’ll never do it.’”

Just as Brown Bird was taking flight, with a handful of acclaimed albums, nonstop touring, and a star-making performance at the Newport Folk Festival, Lamb was diagnosed with leukemia. Though the year-long ordeal that followed was full of incredible support and unwavering hope, he succumbed in April 2014, gone far too soon at 36, leaving Swain on her own to carry a torch for the duo’s brief but enduring legacy.

It’s definitely a departure from what Brown Bird was doing,” she continues. “But it’s important to me to keep Brown Bird part of it, at least for now. I’m still very anxious to keep Brown Bird in people’s ears.

While the band will be announcing a national tour soon, they have a trio of Northeastern dates in the coming weeks:

July 27  Providence, RI  Burnside Park Summer Series
August 3  Greenfield, MA  Root Cellar
August 4  Portland, ME  Space Gallery

unnamed (1)
Avalon Tracklist:
01 Shadow of the Hunted
02 Borealis
03 Call to Arms
04 My Kingdom
05 Severed Soul
06 Ètude
07 The Source
08 Shake Off Your Flesh
09 These Hands
10 Creatures in Flight

Photo credit: Mikael Kennedy
No Comments Yet

Comments are closed