Death of Lovers Announce Debut LP & Share First Single “The Absolute” With Video


Death of Lovers have been anything but dormant since the release of their stellar 2014 debut EP Buried Under A World Of Roses. Amidst three members’ grueling tour schedule with their other band Nothing, Death of Lovers carved out time to focus, demo, write, and shape a newly polished sound. The quartet have now released a punched-up, blissed-out video for “The Absolute,” the first single off their forthcoming full-length, The Acrobat, which will be released November 24th on DAIS Records.

The video, directed and edited by Amanda Siegel, breathes technicolored life into Death of Lovers’ lush and lovelorn sound. Domenic “Nicky” Palermo (accompanied in harmony by drummer Kyle Kimball) tackles selfishness and greed one plaintive lyric at a time (“A senseless world of worth, deceived by needing, and the crow who perches on your tongue – reminding you it won’t be too long.”). Emotive as it may be, the ruminative track is just a toe dipped into The Acrobat’s emotional wellspring.

Watch the video for “The Absolute” below:

Though serving as a flagstone in the band’s stylistic evolution, The Acrobat carries with it an aura of familiarity. Thoughtful compositions weave driving synths, drums and guitars through lock-step rhythm before shattering into cavernous instrumental breaks. Kicking up the dust of their post-punk forebears, Death of Lovers explore the fractured depths of sound and fury one song at a time. Palermo commented:

Since the release of our first EP in 2014 there have been many thoughts and directions whisking in and out our heads of what indeed the debut LP of Death Of Lovers would sound like. But since touring and writing has been non stop it’s been virtually impossible to sit down and write. Until this past October when saw a small breach of light and instead of collecting ourselves mentally and psychically from the music overdosing, we jumped into another black hole of uncertainty and to be perfectly honest it’s been my favorite recording process to date.

It was nice to have a certain bit of freedom from consistently writing both music and lyrical content in a certain manner. I felt I was able to explore a brighter side of all the chaos in this solar system and rather than amass myself under a blanket of hopelessness, kind of let it tickle me, at times anyway. It’s nice when you can occasionally find yourself in that place where you see how amazing it all is even though you’re completely aware of how utterly sad it is at the same time and feel Ok about it. Maybe that’s positivity, I really hope not. I think we all understood that was the direction where this was going.”

The Acrobat artwork & tracklist:


1. Orphans Of The Smog
2. Here Lies
3. Ursula
4. The Lowly People
5. Perfect History
6. Quai d’Orsay
7. Divine Song
8. The Absolute

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed