Hey Colossus Share New Song “Experts Toll” & Announce New Album

Hey Colossus The Guillotine 9

Hey Colossus have announced the release of their new album, The Guillotine, via Rocket Recordings for June 2nd. Listen now their new track, “Experts Toll”.

Lyrically this is the strongest – it’s hard to not be affected by what’s going on in the world” reveals guitarist Joe Thompson. “Consequently the music gets more tightly wound around the vocals. If the lyrics were going to be more pointed I wanted the music to be more so also, so I spent time with some classics – (Fugazi’s) Repeater, (Fleetwood Mac’s) Rumours, This Heat’s records, and (Crass’) Penis Envy.

The Guillotine shows “that they’re in no danger of neglecting either their prolific drive or their charismatic flair. Darker and more brooding than their last two records, it’s also perhaps their most richly melodic to date – the interplay of their three guitar lineup has never sounded more fluent than on these eight songs, nor their songcraft more well-defined.”

The end result, captured in the studio by Tim Cedar (Part Chimp) and Ben Turner, is a record “whose alchemical charge arrives from a reinvention of loud rock shapes into forms both feral and fresh – whilst Hey Colossus can still bludgeon with overamped vigour, as on the hypnotic and devastating krautrock-Jesus-Lizard hybrid of “Back In The Room”, (which also features a guest appearance by none other than Hawkwind icon Nick Turner) they can also deliver the dusky and haunting waltz-time serenade of “Calenture Boy” with uncompromising fortitude, with the new-found confidence and louche allure of Paul Sykes’ vocals at the forefront.”

4 May – Prince Albert, Brighton
5 May – Full Moon, Cardiff
6 May – Old England, Bristol
11 May – The Maze, Nottingham
12 May – Nice N Sleazy, Glasgow
13 May – Soup Kitchen, Manchester
17 May – 100 Club, London
26 August – Sea Change Festival, Totnes (playing the Quietus stage, main support to Jane Weaver)

The Guillotine Tracklist:
1. Honest To God
2. Back In The Room
3. Calenture Boy
4. Experts Toll
5. Potions
6. Englishman
7. In A Collision
8. The Guillotine

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed