Merge Records Announce Coco Hames’ Debut LP & Share “I Do Love You”

Coco Hames

Merge Records have announced that Coco Hames, the frontwoman and indomitable force behind beloved garage-pop combo The Ettes, will release her self-titled solo debut on 31st March.

Listen to the ardent ballad “I Do Love You” below. It showcases Hames’ considerable vocal prowess while conveying the intensity of new love. Proclaiming it “my bossy ode to falling in love,” Hames describes how “I Do Love You” came to be: “I was driving in rural western North Carolina (there’s a beautiful piece of road that opens up between Brevard and Mills River that inspires me every time I’m on it), not believing my luck at realizing I was crazy about my now husband, and I wrote this song and was singing it at the top of my lungs and writing lyrics as I went. I had meant to poetically upgrade/shroud them later, when I sat back down with it, but they’re honest, so I kept them.

Recorded at the Bomb Shelter in Nashville, the album was co-produced by Hames and Andrija Tokic, who has helped sire career-making albums for Alabama Shakes, Hurray for the Riff Raff, and others.

Coco Hames Tracklist:
01 When You Said Goodbye
02 I Do Love You
03 I Don’t Wanna Go
04 Long Time Coming
05 Tennessee Hollow
06 If You Ain’t Mine
07 You’re Calling Me
08 Tiny Pieces
09 This House Ain’t a Home
10 Dead River

Photo Credit: Rachel Briggs
No Comments Yet

Comments are closed