Queens Of The Stone Age Announce New Album “Villains” & Share Brand New Song

QOTSA_Andreas_Neumann-Matablog

Hundreds of epic shows, memory lapses, unexplained injuries, one yearlong detour with Iggy Pop and multiple Grammy nominations later, Queens Of The Stone Age reemerge from the desert newly scarred and somehow strangely prettier with lucky seventh album, Villains, out August 25th on Matador Records. Along with the announcement the band unveiled a brand new track. Listen to “The Way You Used To Do” below.

“The title Villains isn’t a political statement. It has nothing to do with Trump or any of that shit. It’s simply 1) a word that looks fantastic and 2) a comment on the three versions of every scenario: yours, mine and what actually happened… Everyone needs someone or something to rail against—their villain—same as it ever was. You can’t control that. The only thing you can really control is when you let go.” — Joshua Homme

Produced by Mark Ronson and co-produced by Mark Rankin and mixed by Alan Moulder, Villains is the first full album offering from Queens Of The Stone Age since 2013’s …Like Clockwork.

The most important aspect of making this record was redefining our sound, asking and answering the question ‘what do we sound like now?’,” says Homme. “If you can’t make a great first record, you should just stop—but if you can make a great record but you keep making records and your sound doesn’t evolve, you become a parody of that original sound.

Of his role working within such a closed and confident ecosystem as Queens Of The Stone Age, Ronson says, “Queens are and have always been my favorite rock n roll band ever since I walked into Tower on Sunset and bought ‘Rated R’ in the summer of 2000, so it was incredibly surreal to be welcomed into their secret, pirate clan—or the ‘jacuzzi’ as Josh likes to call it. I also knew that my super fandom alone would not keep me in the jacuzzi. There were moments during the making of the album in which i was aware i was watching my musical heroes craft something that was sure to become one of my favorite moments on any Queens album. And to have some part in that felt like being in a dream–a very heavy, dark, wonderful dream.

Longtime Queens cohort co-producer Mark Rankin added, “After the baptism of fire that was …Like Clockwork, I was excited to get into the studio again with the challenge of pushing the sound for this record, especially with the the addition of Ronson into the creative mix. We wanted to evolve the production to be processed in a modern way yet be totally organic and still performed fully live, like lifting a veil and what you thought was electronic is actually live and things are not as they first appear… What we’ve made is forward looking yet unmistakably Queens.”

TOUR DATES
Thursday, June 22 – Rapids Theater — Niagara Falls, NY SOLD OUT
Saturday, June 24 – Amnesia Rockfest 2017 — Montebello, QC
Thursday, July 13 – Logan Campbell, Auckland, New Zealand SOLD OUT
Sunday, July 16 – Convention Centre, Darwin, Australia
Wednesday, July 19 – Hodern Pavilion, Sydney NSW, Australia SOLD OUT
Thursday, July 20 – Festival Hall, Melbourne, Australia SOLD OUT
Saturday, July 22, Splendour In The Grass, Tenindewa, Australia SOLD OUT
Friday, July 28 – Fuji Rock Festival, Kinsasa, Japan
Thursday, August 10 – Ventura Theatre, Ventura CA
Saturday, August 12 – Outside Lands, San Francisco, CA
Wednesday, August 23 – Vital Fest, Belfast, Ireland
Wednesday, September 6 – Capitol Theatre, Port Chester NY
Thursday, September 7 – Festival Pier, Philadelphia PA
Saturday, September 9 – Moison Amphitheatre (Budweiser Stage), Toronto ON
Sunday, September 10 – 20 Monroe Live, Grand Rapids MI
Tuesday, September 12 – Express Live! Outdoor Pavilion, Columbus OH
Wednesday, September 13 – Stage AE (Outdoors), Pittsburgh PA
Friday, September 15 – Agora Theatre, Cleveland OH
Saturday, September 16 – Riot Fest, Chicago IL
Monday, October 9 – The Complex, Salt Lake City UT
Tuesday, October 10 – Red Rocks Amphitheatre, Morrison CO
Thursday, October 12 – Peabody, St. Louis MO
Friday, October 13 – Crossroads KC, Kansas City MO
Saturday, October 14 – Roy Wilkins Auditorium, Saint Paul MN
Sunday, October 15 – Eagles Ballroom, Milwaukee WI
Tuesday, October 17 – Fox Theatre, Detroit MI
Wednesday, October 18 – Old Theatre Centre – Murat Theatre, Indianapolis IN
Friday, October 20 – The Anthem, Washington DC
Saturday, October 21 – Agganis Arena, Boston MA
Sunday, October 22 – State Theatre, Portland ME
Tuesday, October 24, Madison Square Garden, New York NY
Thursday, October 26 – Arena, Mexico City, Mexico
Saturday, November 4th – Unipol Arena, Bologna, Italy
Sunday, November 5th – Stadthalle, Vienna, Austria
Monday, November 6th – Samsung Hall, Zurich, Switzerland
Tuesday, November 7th – AccorHotels Arena, Paris, France
Thursday, November 9th – König-Pilsener-Arena, Oberhausen, Germany
Friday, November 10th – Zenith, Munich, Germany
Saturday November 11th – Velodrom, Berlin, Germany
Sunday, November 12th – Ziggo Dome, Amsterdam, Netherlands
Tuesday, November 14th – TAP1, Copenhagen, Denmark
Wednesday, November 15th – Sporthalle, Hamburg, Germany
Thursday, November 16th – Sportspaleis, Antwerp, Belgium
Sunday, November 19th – Manchester Arena, Manchester, UK
Tuesday, November 21st – The 02, London, UK
Thursday, November 23rd – Usher Hall, Edinburgh, UK
Friday, November 24th – 3Arena, Dublin, Ireland

171106 TEMP

Villains Tracklist:
01 Feet Don’t Fail Me
02 The Way You Used to Do
03 Domesticated Animals
04 Fortress
05 Head Like a Haunted House
06 Un-Reborn Again
07 Hideaway
08 The Evil Has Landed
09 Villains of Circumstance

Photo credit: Andreas Neumann

 

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed