Thrill Jockey & Thou Release “Many Waters: Baton Rouge Flood Relief 2017” Compilation

Many Waters: Baton Rouge Flood Relief 2017 is out today, with all proceeds going to the Greater Baton Rouge Food Bank for relief from the Louisiana floods of 2016. The compilation features a range of exclusive tracks from acclaimed metal acts as well as Louisiana DIY mainstays, including The Body & Full of Hell covering Devo, Thou covering Neil Young, special live tracks from SUMAC and Old Man Gloom, and a solo live recording by Mike Scheidt of Yob, a well as contributions from Louisiana bands Heavy Mantle, Dovonan Wolfington, Caddywhompus and more.

The compilation is available only through Thrill Jockey or Bandcamp, with a digital booklet and the option to purchase an exclusive Many Waters t-shirt.

From Joshua Nee, drummer of Thou:
I spent the better part of three weeks after the [Baton Rouge] flood driving around neighborhoods looking for homes to help out. Every day after work and pretty much all day on the weekends was spent gutting damaged homes. You could tell by looking at a house, that if it didn’t have refuse and debris scattered around outside of it, it probably needed some help getting cleared out. We’d see a house without anything on the front lawn, and just go knock on the door and see if people needed help clearing things out. Once a house has had water in it for that long, all the wood gets swollen and rots and mold sets in, so you have to take it all out – sheet rock and all. A practice space we had been sharing with a slew of other bands was totally wrecked, and countless bands I know had their spaces and equipment destroyed.

When Mitch was getting this benefit together, he asked what organization would make sense to donate to. I told him the Greater Baton Rouge Food Bank, as they had been really amazing and helpful during the aftermath of the flood, and they themselves had even been completely flooded out.

I was thrilled to have so many local Louisiana bands on the compilation. All of those bands come from the same DIY community based background. Punk, pop, metal, whatever. They represent all kinds of music, but they all come from a similar, supportive culture.

Certain tracks were mastered by James Plotkin, while the whole compilation features mastering donated by Keith Souza and Seth Manchester at Machines With Magnets. Artwork was donated by Becky Cloonan, renowned for her work with DC and Marvel Comics.

Many Waters: Baton Rouge Flood Relief 2017 Tracklist:
1. Cikada – 30 Dollar Bag
2. The Body & Full of Hell – Gates of Steel
3. Thou – Don’t Let It Bring You Down
4. Solid Giant – Dead Souls
5. Christworm – Mad World
6. Aseethe – Void
7. SUMAC – Hollow King (Live)
8. Thrush – Effete
9. Empty Vessels – Above Ground
10. The World Is A Vampire – Christian Brothers
11. Hand Grenade Job – Threat Assessment
12. Sandworm – Taverner
13. Old Man Gloom – Zozobra (I-III) [Live]
14. Recluse – Deluge
15. Cajun Clam – Seer Sucker Suits
16. Pudge – Moo Moo
17. Heavy Mantle – Weights and Measures
18. I’m Fine – Brindle Party Plus One
19. Donovan Wolfington – Slower Loris
20. Pope – The Ballad of Little Stevie
21. Black Abba – Demons
22. Gland – Kratom 8r
23. Mea Culpa – Ghost
24. All People – Ruff Dreams
25. Caddywhompus – First Date Anthem Part 2
26. Wildhoney – Thin Air (Drew Scott Remix)
27. Sharks’ Teeth – Melting Belief
28. Ize – Heart on Your Sleeve
29. A Living Soundtrack – Expanding Consolidation
30. Treadles – Feral Human
31. Mike Scheidt – Throw off the Dark
32. Proud/Father – La Paz en la Aqua
33. Golden Void – Sickle Clowns

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed