Tonight Alive Announce New Album & Share Video For New Single “Temple”

Tonight Alive have announced the release of their fourth album, Underworld, and it will be out on January 12 via Hopeless Records / UNFD.

Underworld musically symbolises the totality of the band’s life coming full circle after experiencing their highest highs and lowest lows. They share an emotional journey into their personal shadows of the underworld, something they feel strongly we all possess within us. Singer Jenna McDougall artfully awoke the feelings that she had repressed and used them as a driving force when writing her lyrics and recording this album. She dissected her darkness to get a deeper understanding of who she really is and what she truly loves and it provided her the power and confidence to push herself to remember at the core, why she loves music. McDougall shares, “The album is called Underworld and I named it that because it reflects the ugly parts of me that I wasn’t ready to see until now.”

Tonight Alive, the now four piece following the departure of guitarist/writer Whakaio Taahi, is composed of vocalist Jenna McDougall, rhythm guitarist Jake Hardy, bassist Cameron Adler and drummer Matty Best. Read their statement on his leaving the band below:

It is with regret and great sadness that we announce our guitarist Whakaio’s departure from Tonight Alive. After 9 years on this path together, Whak has made the decision to step back from touring and pursue his own career in songwriting and producing outside of the band.

Whakaio loved and came alive in the creative process; it was a pleasure and privilege to witness. We know his heart and gifts belong in the studio and we continue to love and support each other as a family. The four of us consider ourselves to be 1 part of a greater whole, and will always hold a place for our brother and best friend, whose energy will be known, heard and felt for lifetimes.”

Along with this 13-song album announce, Tonight Alive have released the music video for their first single “Temple”. Born out of a time when McDougall was experiencing severe depression and fatigue, the lyrics for this super-charged and energetic track were penned when she was entrapped in being sick in her mind, body and soul. Check out the video for the hard-hitting, yet deeply personal track below:

Underworld artwork & tracklist:


01. Book Of Love
02. Temple
03. Disappear
04. The Other
05. In My Dreams
06. For You
07. Crack My Heart
08. Just For Now
09. Burning On
10. Waiting For The End
11. Last Light
12. Looking For Heaven
13. My Underworld

Tonight Alive will tour the UK next year alongside With Confidence and The Gospel Youth. See all tour dates below:


08 – LONDON, Koko
11 – NOTTINGHAM, Rock City
12 – LEEDS, Stylus
13 – BRISTOL, Motion

Photo Credit: Neal Walters
No Comments Yet

Comments are closed