Death Valley Girls announce ‘Street Venom (Deluxe Edition)’ reissue & share video for “Sanitarium Blues”

Los Angeles rockers Death Valley Girls will reissue & release their first album, Street Venom, for the first ever time on vinyl, on July 30th, courtesy of Suicide Squeeze Records. Today they have  shared a new video for their track “Sanitarium Blues“.

Speaking about the song, Bonnie Bloomgarden, vocalist and guitarist of Death Valley Girls said the following:
When I was a kid, I ended up in a mental institution after trying to finish my life! I eventually found out that I am bipolar and extremely empathetic. Life just got too intense/scary to know how to deal with alone! I didn’t know how to get help or that help would work.

(P.S. There are lots of places to get help. It just seems hard to find sometimes. I’m so glad I found it and stuck with it:)

I haven’t ever talked about this because I felt really guilty for hurting my family and friends. I’ve tried to make up for that by trying to make people feel good and steering people’s attention to things that will help them and away from sadness or scary things! But now I realize talking about my experience is just as helpful as perpetuating joy! Life is hard, but you are not meant to suffer. You are here to be the most and fullest you possible.
Realizing that you are not meant to suffer (no one is!) and seeking help is so huge. Do it ’cause you deserve it! A healthy you can change the world! And the world deserves your healthiest you, too :)
This song is about my stay at the institution!
The combination of stuff I do that is currently keeping me alive/balanced is taking antidepressants, walking a lot, meditating, therapy, plant medicine, space from humans, and my dog.

Director Wiktor Lekston added the following on the video: “The idea for the music video from the girls was the astral project. I did not want to convey it directly. I focused on being a prisoner in my own maze called the body. In the video, you can see surreal and psychedelic inspirations. Thanks to the feedback signals, the video was made in analog and is a bit like POST-MTV’s clips from the 80s, but that’s my style.

Listen to “Sanitarium Blues” and watch the video for it below:

Street Venom (Deluxe Edition) artwork & tracklist:

1. No Reason
2. Sanitarium Blues
3. Arrow
4. Get Home
5. Shadow
6. Gettin’ Hard
7. Paradise Blues
8. Run Run Rocky
9. Red Glare
10. Girlfriend
11. Electric High

Photo credit: Mara Breene
No Comments Yet

Comments are closed