IDLES announce new album ‘CRAWLER’ & share first single “The Beachland Ballroom”

IDLES have announced the 12th November release date of CRAWLER, the band’s fourth studio album and the follow-up to their 2020’s Ultra Mono, via Partisan Records. The 14-track project was recorded earlier this year at the famed Real World Studios in Bath and co-produced by Kenny Beats (Vince Staples, slowthai, Freddie Gibbs) and IDLES guitarist Mark Bowen.

The first single, named after the iconic Ohio venue, is an honest-to-goodness soul song featuring a gorgeous, gripping vocal performance from frontman Joe Talbot. Talbot says of the track: “It’s the most important song on the album, really. There’s so many bands that go through the small rooms and dream of making it into the big rooms. Being able to write a soul tune like this made me go, fuck–we’re at a place where we’re actually allowed to go to these big rooms and be creative and not just go through the motions and really appreciate what we’ve got. The song is sort of an allegory of feeling lost and getting through it. It’s one that I really love singing.

Listen to “The Beachland Ballroom” below:

CRAWLER artwork & tracklist:

1. MTT 420 RR
2. The Wheel
3. When the Lights Come On
4. Car Crash
5. The New Sensation
6. Stockholm Syndrome
7. The Beachland Ballroom
8. Crawl!
9. Meds
10. Kelechi
11. Progress
12. Wizz
13. King Snake
14. The End

Photo credit: Tom Ham
No Comments Yet

Comments are closed