Joyfultalk shares new single “New Biology”

Joyfultalk has shared a new 28-minute single “New Biology“, which is the seventh track in Constellation’s Corona Borealis Longplay Singles Series – the longest in the series to date. “New Biology” follows the full album, A Separation Of Being, released this past March, and includes an experimental film by Joyfultalk’s Jay Crocker. “New Biology” is exclusive to Bandcamp and PWYC for the first week of release. Joyfultalk’s Constellation digital discography is also on sale during this time. Proceeds from all these sales go 100% to the artist, as part of Constellation’s pandemic initiative for immediate artist support.

‘New Biology’ is an extended improvised piece with a focus on the exploration of “free” electronics. For the past decade my practice has been working towards the construction of a portable electronic music system completely based on the principles of immediacy. I have tried to design a system where I can explore improvisations without ever being “cornered” by the system itself. A system that can be played and manipulated as easily as a guitar, saxophone, drums etc. I wanted to be able to play in time or with the absence of time to perform manipulations of stored sounds or constant recycling and reimagining of new sounds with no dead ends and only the limitation of creativity as an obstacle.

The visual aspect of the piece works along the same lines of improvisation. It is a meditation in smudging, painting, glitching and pulsing analogue and digital strains into endless video streams of trans-configured consciousness. NEW BIOLOGY follows a loose narrative of moving from this physical manifestation of being to another. Bypassing linear time to be recast as something new.” – Jay Crocker/Joyfultalk

Listen to & watch the video for “New Biology” below:


These longform singles will drop weekly in Autumn 2020 and Winter 2021 and will be PWYC (no minimum) during the first 48 hours of release. Each artist’s Constellation digital discography will also be specially-priced on Bandcamp during the week of their single releases. The label simply wishes to enable and encourage ongoing discovery, means-based value, and low-carbon-impact support for active artists in their immediate label community – particularly during these trying times, and in lieu of their usual album-oriented release schedule which resumes in Spring 2021.

Autumn 2020 release schedule
01 Oct Markus Floats
08 Oct Efrim Manuel Menuck
15 Oct Jessica Moss
22 Oct Jason Sharp
29 Oct T. Gowdy
05 Nov Fly Pan Am
19 Nov Joni Void + N NAO

Winter 2021 release schedule
(track order subject to change)
15 Jan T. Griffin
22 Jan Eric Chenaux
29 Jan Deadbeat & Martin Bakero
05 Feb Automatisme
12 Feb Light Conductor
19 Feb Off World
26 Feb Sam Shalabi
05 Mar Jerusalem In My Heart

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed