Laura Jane Grace surprise releases brand new seven-song EP, ‘At War With The Silverfish’

Artist, author, activist and musician Laura Jane Grace (Against Me!, The Devouring Mothers) has released At War With The Silverfish, Grace’s brand new seven-song EP. Half recorded at Grace’s TinyQuietStudio in Chicago, IL and half recorded at Electric Eel in St. Louis, MO and mixed by her Devouring Mothers bandmate Marc Hudson, At War With The Silverfish is the follow-up to her critically acclaimed solo album Stay Alive and finds Grace in a range of stripped-back, poignant modes that amount to an honest and holistic account of our shared humanity.

These are songs of late night madness and loneliness, orphan songs that came wandering in looking to feed like insects,” Laura Jane Grace says of her new EP, At War With The Silverfish.

Reflecting on the album’s interiority, Grace acknowledges the universal nature of many of its themes — how her highly personal accounts bloom into broader human connection. “I’ve learned that if you share your experience with good intentions that the universe will always surprise you with abundant return,” she says. “Every song is an act of faith; you don’t necessarily know why you’re singing it other than you know you’ve got to sing it.

Listen to At War With The Silverfish EP in full below:

Additionally, Grace will be performing solo this fall and winter supporting At War With The Silverfish, making midwest and east coast appearances and supporting Thursday in December. Dates below with more to be added soon.

23 – Chicago, IL – Sleeping Village (SOLD OUT)
25 – Las Vegas, NV – Punk Rock Bowling (Downtown Grand Hotel and Casino)

08 – Champaign, IL – Polyvinyl Record Co. HQ ^
10 – Hampton Beach, NH – Hampton Beach Casino *
24 – St. Paul, MN – Dark Horse

27 – Reading, PA – Reverb #
28 – Worcester, PA – The Palladium #
29 – Washington, DC – 9:30 Club #
30 – Sayreville, NJ – Starland Ballroom #

^ – w/ Cole Bridges
* – w/ Frank Turner and Austine Meade
# – w/ Thursday

Photo credit: Chris Bauer
No Comments Yet

Comments are closed