loscil announces new album & shares video for track “Vespera”

Cascadian resident loscil aka Scott Morgan has announced the release of a new album, Clara, which will be out on May 28th via kranky.

Clara is a sourced from a single three-minute composition performed by a 22-piece string orchestra in Budapest. The subsequent recording was lathe-cut on to a 7-inch, then “scratched and abused to add texture and colour,” from which the entirety of Clara was sampled, shape-shifted, and sculpted. The album’s title comes from the Latin for ‘bright’: a fitting muse for this masterpiece of celestial electric currents and interstitial ether, where “shadows are amplified and bright spots dimmed.

loscil has also shared a video for the album’s track “Vespera“. Listen to it and watch the video below:

Clara artwork & tracklist:

1. Lux
2. Lumina
3. Lucida
4. Stella
5. Vespera
6. Sol
7. Aura
8. Flamma
9. Orta
10. Clara

Photo credit: Ben Didier
No Comments Yet

Comments are closed