Softcult announce new EP & share new single “Drain”

Softcult have announced their new EP, See You In The Dark, and it will be released on March 24th 2023 via Easy Life Records.

Made up of twins Mercedes (She/Her) and Phoenix Arn-Horn (They/Them), they also have shared a new single “Drain” which is about climate change, specifically the shameless greed of corporations and the government officials that are fuelling it.

On the track Mercedes says: “It’s disgusting how making a profit is a higher priority for those in power than a sustainable environment. Seeing hollow shows of performative “action” from these world leaders and multi-million dollar companies that don’t offer any actual solutions just adds to my frustration, because it feels like we’re being manipulated and lied to in the most disgustingly condescending way.”

The video was directed/produced/edited by Mercedes. Here, the duo harmonise on the hook, capturing the intense reality their generation faces: a dying planet, and capitalistic gluttony run amuck. She adds: “There are people out there who could end world hunger right now in exchange for 10% less of their billions. There are legislations that could reverse climate change in time to save this dying planet and spare future generations a pretty horrific existence. But these bloated fucking dragons would rather die hoarding more wealth than they could ever spend in a lifetime than part with a little to help save the world. To think these billionaires actually give a shit about us or our quality of life is just naive. So because of the one percent’s greed, their legacy will be our eventual extinction.

Listen to “Drain” and watch the video for it below:

The title See You In The Dark is inspired by Nietzsche‘s famous quote: “Battle not with monsters, lest ye become a monster, and if you gaze into the abyss, the abyss gazes also into you.

It is an analogy for the things we’re afraid to face. It represents confronting our innermost fears, usually in those vulnerable moments lying awake at night when our minds are racing. It’s sort of an acknowledgement of our darkness, and the darkness of others, like “hey, I see you”, Mercedes says.

While it’s important to acknowledge our darkness, we also can’t submit to it. We have to strive to be better people, and leave behind a legacy of positive change. I think it’s important to do everything we can to try and make a positive impact on the world, even when that feels impossible. Because if we don’t at least try, who will?

See You In The Dark artwork & tracklist:

1. Drain
2. Dress
3. One Of A Million
4. Someone2Me
5. Love Song
6. Spoiled

Photo credit: Pearl Cook
No Comments Yet

Comments are closed