SPICE announce debut album via Dais Records, listen to new song “First Feeling”

Spice, comprised of Ross Farrar (vocals) and Jake Casarotti (drums), both of Ceremony, along with Cody Sullivan (bass), Ian Simpson (guitar), and Victoria Skudlarek (violin) have announced their debut self-titled album, out 17th July via Dais Records, also sharing track “First Feeling“.

Spice comments, collectively, on the album: “In the beginning, we were very conscious of what the shape of the record was going to be: short (thirty minutes or less), variation (a mix of short and longer songs), emotional, but not gushing, powerful, but not overt. We wanted there to be a single thread that connected everything, continuity, a sense that the record was one complete organism.”

Listen to the new track below.

They continue: “To authentically express pain can be difficult. It comes towards us every day in some shape or another, and parsing out which side to expel can prove arduous. With that, choosing what to hold that pain in, how to package it can also be hard. Then besets the question of form. In the adverse, too much sentimentality can soften form, yet too much pain – well – a good balance is due. At the onset of any artistic endeavor there is a (conscious or unconscious) search for form. Form is the vehicle’s engine, it lies beneath everything, a scaffold for content, where content stays.”

Tracklist and artwork:

First Feeling
All My Best Shit
Reward Trip
26 Dogs
V.O. The Night
Black Car
The Building Was Gone
I Don’t Wanna Die in New York

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed