Zoee announces debut LP & shares first single/video, “Microwave”

London-based musician Harriet Zoe Pittard aka Zoee has announced the release of her debut album, Flaw Flower, due on June 25th via Illegal Data. She has previously released singles through Ryan Hemworth’s ‘Secret Songs’ imprint and Vegyn’s label Plz Make It Ruins, as well as guesting as a vocalist on tracks with Hot Chip’s Joe Goddard and with hyper-pop collective PC Music.

Today, Zoee has also shared the first single and video taken from the record, “Microwave“. Speaking about Microwave, she said: “It’s a many-sided song about familial dynamics, oppressive domestic settings and the joy found in self validation.

Watch and listen to “Microwave” below:

Writing for the album began in October 2018 when Zoee started working closely again with friend and long-term musical collaborator Rowan Martin. As the material for the record began to take shape the writing and recording process also evolved with the addition of bassist Kyrone Oak and keys player Laura Norman, as well as contributions from Ben Vince and London pop artist Saint Torrente. “I feel like the songs on this album took me deeper into myself, the sad song that I thought was about a boy is still about that but it’s also about loss, about self-determination, about not losing hope, about memory, about domesticity, about detachment, about my dad, about my mum, about change, about feeling incredibly alone, about growing up.

Flaw Flower artwork & tracklist:

1. No Great Endings
2. Microwave
3. Host
4. Evening Primrose
5. Fountain
6. The Loft
7. The Empty Glass
8. Best Man Speech
9. The Flowering Corpse
10. False God
11. Bits

Photo credit: Cat Scrivener
No Comments Yet

Comments are closed