A playlist curated by The Ophelias

Ohio four-piece The Ophelias are about to release their new album Crocus on September 24th via Joyful Noise Recordings.

Crocus retains the complexity of 2018’s album Almost, but revels in the newfound confidence bolstered by the growth and change the band has undergone. “Knowing that I was sharing this intimate side of myself with the world made me want to say exactly what I meant instead of relying on vague images,” vocalist/guitarist Spencer Peppet muses. The Ophelias’ growth has been marked — so much has transformed and been rebuilt that the Ophelias feel like they’re eagerly reintroducing themselves to the world. “Crocus represents that state of flux, between dreaming and reality or internal reflection and external action,” Peppet says. “I had to wring this all out of my chest, and doing that is very vulnerable. But being in a band with such a strong sense of community, trust, care, and love makes that process a lot easier.”

We teamed up with the group for a brand new curated playlist. Listen to The Ophelias’ curated playlist below:

Spencer picks:
Three Sisters – Wednesday
All Our Base Are Belong to Them- The Books
Break It Off- PinkPantheress
Please Won’t Please- Helado Negro
Bottlerocket- Astrobrite

Jo picks:
I Wanna Be Sedated – The Ramones
Diminuendo and Crescendo in Blue (Live at Newport) – Duke Ellington
Law of Averages- Vince Staples
Gospel for a New Century- Yves Tumor
Shadow Expert- Palm

Appalachia Waltz – Mark O’Connor
Don’t Dream It’s Over – Sixpence None the Richer
No Regrets – Tom Rush
Lights of Cincinnati – Scott Walker
Crooked- Wussy

Mic picks:
Justified- Kacey Musgraves
Damages- Tems
…Where Have All The Cowboys Gone?- Paula Cole
That’s The Way I Like It- Lily Konigsberg
Just Say Det- Moneybagg Yo

Photo credit: Madeleine Hordinski
No Comments Yet

Comments are closed