Boris announce new album & share new single/video “Drowning By Numbers”

In an effort to sublimate the negative energy surrounding everyone in 2020, legendary Japanese heavy rock band Boris focused all of their energy creatively and turned out the most extreme album of their long and widely celebrated career, NO. The band self-released the album in the height of lockdown, desiring to get it out as quickly as possible, but intentionally called the final track on the album “Interlude” while planning its follow-up.

The follow-up comes with W, the band’s debut album for Sacred Bones Records, which is set for release on January 21st. The record opens with the same melody as “Interlude” in a piece entitled “I want to go to the side where you can touch…” and in contrast to the extreme sounds found on NO, this new album whispers into the listener’s ear with a trembling hazy sound meant to awaken sensation.

W‘s first single, “Drowning By Numbers” arrives today alongside a spellbinding new music video. Of the video, Boris comment: “This video was filmed at a private showcase with limited invitation in April of 2021. It is a collaborative performance with a contemporary dance team. The song was transformed from its original performance and visualized; a big hat dances symbolically at the beginning of the new album.

Listen to “Drowning By Numbers” and watch the video for it below:

W artwork & tracklist:

1. I Want to Go to the Side Where You Can Touch…
2. Icelina
3. Drowning By Numbers
4. Invitation
5. The Fallen
6. Beyond Good and Evil
7. Old Projector
8. You Will Know (Ohayo Version)
9. Jozan

Photo credit: Yoshihiro Mori
No Comments Yet

Comments are closed