Cat Power announces new covers LP and shares renditions of Frank Oean & The Pogues

Cat Power has announced a new album of cover songs. She’s released two albums worth of covers already, 2000’s The Covers Record and 2008’s Jukebox, and now she has a third on the way, titled, simply, Covers, and due out January 14 via Domino.

She announced the album with an appearance on The Late Late Show With James Corden on Wednesday night (10/6), where she performed a rendition of Frank Ocean‘s channel ORANGE track “Bad Religion” with her band. The cover had its origins in performing one of her own songs, “In Your Face” off 2018’s Wanderer, on tour. “That song was bringing me down,” she says. “So I started pulling out lyrics from ‘Bad Religion’ and singing those instead of getting super depressed. Performing covers is a very enjoyable way to do something that feels natural to me when it comes to making music.”

In addition to “Bad Religion,” Cat Power has shared a second song from the album, her version of The Pogues‘ “A Pair of Brown Eyes” that she calls her “personal favorite.” Listen to both songs and watch her performance below:

Covers also features versions of songs by Iggy Pop, Nick Cave, The Replacements, Bob Seger, Jackson Browne, and more, as well as an updated version of Cat Power’s The Greatest track “Hate.”

Covers artwork & tracklist:

01. Bad Religion (Frank Ocean cover)
02. Unhate (Cat Power – Chan Marshall cover)
03. Pa Pa Power (Dead Man’s Bones cover)
04. White Mustang (Lana Del Rey cover)
05. A Pair of Brown Eyes (The Pogues cover)
06. Against the Wind (Bob Seger cover)
07. Endless Sea (Iggy Pop cover)
08. These Days (Jackson Browne cover)
09. It Wasn’t God Who Made Honky Tonk Angels (Kitty Wells cover)
10. I Had a Dream Joe (Nick Cave cover)
11. Here Comes a Regular (The Replacements cover)
12. I’ll Be Seeing You (Billie Holiday cover)

Photo credit: Mario Sorrenti
No Comments Yet

Comments are closed