Circuit Des Yeux signs to Matador, announces new album ‘-io’ & shares video for new song “Dogma”

Haley Fohr has announced a new Circuit Des Yeux album, her first studio album since 2017. -io, it’s also her first for Matador Records and it will be out October 22nd.

Dogma” is the first single shared from -io along with its music video. “Where there is faith there is violence. The story of civilization is complicated and layered with dogmas. At each individual’s incentive lies both a beacon and an instinct. The fool follows the outer while the idiot chases her interior. Society is a necessary subversion of the self. It is through time that our quiet alarms grow with great intensity until emancipation through implosion or explosion become imminent.” – Fohr says.

Listen to “Dogma” and watch the video for it below:

Fohr wrote the songs following the loss of a close friend, and recorded the album during lockdown, producing and arranged the album herself, working at Chicago’s Electrical Audio studios with Cooper Crain and mix engineer Marta Salogni (Bjork, Holly Herndon).

Inside this world and its closed loop of time, Fohr found herself able to begin moving again. “I was haunted by memories in the pandemic,” she says. “As someone with PTSD, memories are all twisted up inside of me in a way that doesn’t help my higher self. Making this album was once again an exercise of trying to relieve myself of some of that darkness in a way that music has always done for me.”

-io artwork & tracklist:

01 Tonglen | In Vain
02 Vanishing
03 Dogma
04 The Chase
05 Sculpting the Exodus
06 Walking Toward Winter
07 Argument
08 Neutron Star
09 Stranger
10 Oracle Son

Photo credit: Evan Jenkins
No Comments Yet

Comments are closed