Smithsonian Folkways announce the release of Songs from the Bardo

Smithsonian Folkways has announced the release of Songs from the Bardo, a collaborative long-form composition by multimedia artist Laurie Anderson, Tibetan singer and multi-instrumentalist Tenzin Choegyal, and activist and composer Jesse Paris Smith, to be released September 27.

The piece, first performed as a mostly improvisatory performance at New York’s Rubin Museum of Art, is a guided journey through the visionary text of the Tibetan Book of the Dead, a collaborative effort where cellist Rubin Kodheli and percussionist Shahzad Ismaily are also part of it.

Listen to the project leading piece below.

Track listing and artwork:

01 Homage to the Gurus
02 Heart Sutra Song – Gone Beyond
03 Awakened One
04 The Three Jewels
05 Brilliant Lights
06 Listen Without Distraction
07 Gong
08 Dancing with the Crescent Knife
09 Jigten
10 Natural Form of Emptiness
11 Lotus Born, No Need to Fear
12 Dividing Line
13 Moon in the Water
14 Awakened Heart

Photo credit: Steven Sebring
No Comments Yet

Comments are closed