Spiritualized Announce New Album & Share Two New Songs

Spiritualized have announced the release of their first new album in six years, And Nothing Hurt, for September 7th via Fat Possum/Bella Union. The band has also unveiled two songs from the upcoming album: “I’m Your Man” and “A Perfect Miracle.” The new album follows 2012’s Sweet Heart Sweet Light.

In the press release, Spiritualized’s Jason Pierce stated the following about the forthcoming new album:

Making this record on my own sent me more mad than anything I’ve done before. We’d been playing these big shows and I really wanted to capture that sound we were making but, without the funds to do, I had to find a way to work within the constraints of what money I had. So I bought a laptop and made it all in a little room in my house…

The biggest thing for me was to try to make it sound like a studio session. There are bits that I went to a studio to record — mainly drums and percussion. I mean, there’s no way I’m going to get timpani up my stairs. When I came to terms with how I was going to make the record, I assumed it was going to sound like Lee Perry — all flying in from different angles; all extraordinary and not hi-tech in construction. But I was new to it all, I didn’t have all the short cuts people use when they’re making records — I just sat there for weeks… for months… moving every level up bit by bit just to try to get the sounds right…

With a bit of trial and lot of error, I found ways of doing something that’s quite simple, if you’ve got the resources. I spent two weeks listening to classical records and strumming the chord that I wanted on my guitar. When I found something to match what I wanted, I’d sample that bit and go for the next chord and try to match that. It took weeks, trying to put together and layer convincing string sounds. But, if I’m honest, all I wanted was for someone to come and play the part and bring their own thing to the record.

And Nothing Hurt Tracklist:
01. A Perfect Miracle
02. I’m Your Man
03. Here It Comes (The Road) Let’s Go
04. Let’s Dance
05. On the Sunshine
06. Damaged
07. The Morning After
08. The Prize
09. Sail on Through

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed