Varsity announce new album & share new single/music video “Runaway”

Varsity have announced their upcoming full-length, Fine Forever, due out May 29th from Run For Cover Records.

To record Fine Forever, vocalist/keyboardist Stef Smith, guitarists Dylan Weschler and Patrick Stanton, bassist Paul Stolz, and drummer Jake Stolz, put their trust in producer Ben Lumsdaine (Kevin Krauter, EZTV, Amy O) as if he were the band’s sixth member. “Ben really helped free our minds and let us focus on playing music,” says bassist Paul Stolz.

Watch below the video for the lead single “Runaway.”

I used to be a documentary filmmaker, so narrative nonfiction is sort-of my view of the world,” says Smith. “These songs are all different stories, and I relate to those stories, but I’m not the protagonist.”

Steph is really good at listening to the nuances of the song and writing to that, understanding the song deeply enough to make the lyrics fit with the emotional arc of the music,” says Stolz.

Fine Forever track list and artwork:

1. Runaway
2. Fine Forever
3. Shaking Hands
4. Wrecking Line
5. The Memphis Group
6. Surfin’ Milwaukee
7. Reason To Run
8. What’s Yours Is Mine
9. Heaven Sent
10. Sicko World

Photo credit: Alexa Viscius
No Comments Yet

Comments are closed