Xeno & Oaklander announce new album & share first single “Infinite Sadness”

East Coast minimal wave duo Xeno & Oaklander have announced the release of their seventh full-length, Vi/deo, out on October 22nd via Dais Records.

Inspired by ideas of synaesthesia, scent, star worship, and obsolescent technologies, the duo of Liz Wendelbo and Sean McBride began conceiving the blueprint of Vi/deo while sequestered at their Southern Connecticut home studio during the pandemic. The context of isolation, streaming, and remote dreaming seeped into their chemistry, manifesting as both homage to and meditation on a certain cinematic strain of technicolour fantasy: the screen as stage, distance disguised as intimacy, where tragedy and glamor crossfade into one.

The duo have also shared the album’s first single, “Infinite Sadness“. Listen to it below:

Vi/deo captures the bittersweet beauty of youth and utopias, the wistful transformation from miracle to memory, where love turns unreal and music becomes myth: “Sounds of the underground / Will echo in future days / Feelings of misery / Will fade into the haze.”

Vi/deo artwork & tracklist:

1. Infinite Sadness
2. Poison
3. Afar
4. Technicolor
5. Television
6. Gain
7. Movie Star
8. Rain Garden

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed