Xiu Xiu & Larsen Announce New LP & Share “Queen of Koalas”

XXL is the unholy union of Xiu Xiu and Italian experimental band Larsen. Today they have announced their fourth album Puff O’Gigio for release on December 7th via Bad Paintings.

Puff O’Gigio is a mythological, genetically modified character – a cross between the notorious Belgian 2-apple sized blue creatures and the equally popular Italian talking and dancing mice. The album inhabits the same colourful, intersectional world as the character, telling stories of wild animals, dub echoes, feminist art(ists), alternative ecosystems and assorted fetishes.

Written and recorded in a single week in Italy, Puff O’Gigio was written and performed by Fabrizio Modonese Palumbo, Jamie Stewart, Marco Schiavo, Paolo Dellapiana, Roberto Maria Clemente, enriched by sonic contributions by Angela Seo, recorded and mixed by Paul Beauchamp at O.F.F. Studio Torino (Italy) and mastered by James Plotkin.

With the album’s announcement, they have also shared the six-minute track “Queen of Koalas.” Listen to it below:

Puff O’Gigio artwork & tracklist:


1. Intro
2. Ghost Maid
3. Interlude
4. Carissimo
5. To Carol Rama
6. Polar Bear Boogie Part 1
7. Polar Bear Boogie Part 2
8. Welcome To My Planet
9. Lemoning
10. Queen of Koalas (Soundcloud)
11. Outro

XXL live dates:

19 November – Hamburg @ Kampnegel
20 November – Copenhagen @ VEGA
22 November – Prague @ Underdogs
25 November – Turin @ Magazzino sul Po

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed