Stream Doe’s New Album, “Grow Into It”

doe-july-2018-andrew-northrop-01

Doe have released their new album today, Grow Into It, stream the whole effort in full below.

Doe  have signed to renowned indie labels Big Scary Monsters and Topshelf Records to release Grow into It, album produced by Matthew Johnson (Hookworms, Suburban Home Studio).

Nicola Leel singer and guitarist explains Doe’s new album: “Grow into It is an album about the ageing process and growth”, she continues; “Lyrically, I wanted to write an album about getting older that was an antithesis of the overdone trope of male bands singing about rejecting adulthood and wanting to stay young and get wasted with their friends forever. Instead, Grow into It is about finding light and freedom in age and finding autonomy in death.”

Vivid body imagery is a recurring lyrical theme, not only to evoke ideas of physical change / deterioration, but as a metaphor for the development and deterioration of personal relationships as you grow and gain perspective. The subject matter across the songs ranges from deciding you’re not going to accommodate others at your own personal expense anymore (Labour like I Do, Team Spirit), to realising your favourite author is a bit shit at writing women (Even Fiction)”.

Catch Doe live on tour, full dates below.

Live:
Saturday 29th September – Rough Trade, Bristol
Sunday 30th September – Le Pub, Newport
Monday 1st October – Flashback East, London
Tuesday 2nd October, Bobble Cafe, Lille, France
Wednesday 3rd October – TBC, Germany
Thursday 4th October – Cardinal, Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Friday 5th October – 007 Klub, Prague, Czech Republic
Saturday 6th October – ZeWi, Erlangen, Germany
Sunday 7th October – Bei Chez Heinz, Hanover, Germany
Monday 8th October – JH Tijl, Diest, Belgium
Wednesday 17th October: London – The Garage*
Thursday 18th October: Nottingham – Rough Trade Nottingham*
Friday 19th October: Leeds – Belgrave Music Hall*
Saturday 20th October: Birmingham – Hare & Hounds*
Monday 22nd October: Glasgow – Stereo*
Tuesday 23rd October: Manchester – Now Wave Venue*
Wednesday 24th October: Brighton – Patterns*
Thursday 25th October: Bristol – The Louisiana*
Saturday 28th October The FEST – Loosey’s – Gainesville, FL, USA
* with Speedy Ortiz

Grown Into It is out now via Big Scary Monsters and Topshelf Records.

Photo credit: Andrew Northrop
No Comments Yet

Comments are closed